Messed up

In the county I live in there is only one youth club for young adults with autism. In 2011 the population was 1,381,200 and statistics show that 1 in 100 people have an autsitic spectrum disorder. So one youth club for all them people does not make sense. Especailly when you find out the local government give the club no funding and it relies soley on charitable donations.

I have been going to this club for three years now and it has changed my life. I would not be the person I am today if it was not for the club.

But sadly in August the club is shutting because of lack of funding. There is no other one to go to. Me (and others) have tried going to youth clubs for anyone and ones just for people with disabilities, but both types I hated I felt unwanted and there and was picked on in the general youth club. So this one for people with Aspergers is so vital.

Do you know why the government refuse to fund it? Because it only helps people with autism or aspergers. Autism is a socail disability, people have problems communicating. That’s why they need that extra help to communicate with the other clubs don’t do.

There is a general youth club just down the road from us, they have gyms a brand new multi-sports facility and sound proof rooms full of music equipment (even though we are in a recession). We have a building with no heating. I understand that the government have to make spending cuts but they don’t even provide money to the most needed. We don’t want a big fancy club, we just want to stay open.NI’m going to start paying taxes soon. But I have to do this even though the system is corrupt and has let me down. I completely agree with paying taxes but I think that the government should show exactly were our money is getting spent. Because I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks this is messed up…

Leave a Reply

